Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Nodular regenerative hyperplasia in patients with inflammatory bowel disease treated with azathioprine.
  1. Gwenola Vernier-Massouille (gwenovernier{at}hotmail.com)
  1. Hôpital Huriez, France
    1. Jacques Cosnes (jacques.cosnes{at}sat.ap-hop-paris.fr)
    1. Hôpital Saint-Antoine, France
      1. Marc Lemann (marc{at}lemann.com)
      1. Hôpital Saint-Louis, France
        1. Phillipe Marteau (philippe.marteau{at}egp.ap-hop-paris.fr)
        1. Hôpital Lariboisière, France
          1. Walter Reinisch (walter.reinisch{at}meduniwien.ac.at)
          1. Medical University Vienna, Austria
            1. David Laharie (david.laharie{at}chu-bordeaux.fr)
            1. Hôpital Haut-Leveque, France
              1. Guillaume Cadiot (gcadiot{at}chu-reims.fr)
              1. Chu Robert Debre, France
                1. Yoram Bouhnik (yoram.bouhnik{at}bjn.aphp.fr)
                1. Hôpital Beaujon, France
                  1. Martine De Vos (martine.devos{at}ugent.be)
                  1. Ghent University Hospital, Belgium
                    1. Arnaud Bourreille (arnaud.bourreille{at}chu-nantes.fr)
                    1. University Hospital, Nantes, France
                      1. Bernard Duclos (bduclos{at}cybercable.tm.fr)
                      1. Hôpital Universitaire de Hautepierre, France
                        1. Philippe Seksik (philippe.seksik{at}sat.aphp.fr)
                        1. Hôpital St Antoine, France
                          1. Jean-Yves Mary (jean-yves.mary{at}paris7.jussieu.fr)
                          1. INSERM U717, Universitè Paris 7, Paris., France
                            1. Jean-Frederic Colombel (jfcolombel{at}chru-lille.fr)
                            1. Hôpital Huriez, France

                              Abstract

                              Aims of the study: To assess characteristics and the clinical course of nodular regenerative hyperplasia (NRH) in patients with inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) treated with azathioprine (AZA), so as to estimate the frequency of this complication and to search for risk factors.

                              Methods: Cases were identified through systematic survey of patients followed at 11 centers. At one center, cumulative risk of NRH was estimated and a case-control study was performed to identify risk factors.

                              Results: Thirty-seven cases of NRH (30 males, 7 females) were identified between 1994 and 2005. The median dose of AZA was 2 mg/kg/d (range, 1.5-3). The median time between start of AZA and diagnosis of NRH was 48 months (range, 6-187). After a median follow-up of 16 months (range, 1-138), 14 patients developed complications of portal hypertension. Using multivariate analysis, male gender and stricturing disease behavior were the two risk factors associated with NRH in patients treated with AZA. Cumulative risk calculated from the database at one center was 0.5 % at 5 years (95% CI: 0.11-0.89) and 1.25 % at 10 years (95% CI: 0.29-2.21).

                              Conclusion: NRH is a rare but potentially severe complication of AZA in patients with IBD. Clinicians should be aware of this complication, and should closely monitor liver function tests and platelet counts in their patients.

                              • azathioprine
                              • inflammatory bowel disease
                              • nodular regenerative hyperplasia
                              • portal hypertension

                              Statistics from Altmetric.com

                              Request permissions

                              If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                              Linked Articles

                              • Digest
                                Robin Spiller Emad M El-Omar