Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Reliability of transient elastography for the diagnosis of advanced fibrosis in chronic hepatitis C
  1. Massimo Pinzani (m.pinzani{at}dmi.unifi.it)
  1. Dipartimento di Medicina Interna, Università di Firenze, Italy
    1. Umberto Arena (uarena{at}tin.it)
    1. Dipartimento di Medicina Interna, Università di Firenze, Italy
      1. Francesco Vizzutti (fvizzutti{at}hotmail.com)
      1. Dipartimento di Medicina Interna, Università di Firenze, Italy
        1. Juan Abraldes (jgon{at}clinic.ub.es)
        1. Liver Unit, Hospital Clinic, University of Barcelona, Spain
          1. Giampaolo Corti (giampaolo.corti{at}unifi.it)
          1. Malattie Infettive e Tropicali Università di Firenze, Italy
            1. Cristina Stasi (cristina.stasi{at}unifi.it)
            1. Malattie Infettive e Tropicali Università di Firenze, Italy
              1. Stefania Moscarella (s.moscarella{at}dmi.unifi.it)
              1. Dipartimento di Medicina Interna, Università di Firenze, Italy
                1. Stefano Milani (s.milani{at}dfc.unifi.it)
                1. Dipartimento di Fisiopatologia Clinica, Università di Firenze, Italy
                  1. Elisabetta Lorefice (e.lorefice{at}dfc.unifi.it)
                  1. Dipartimento di Fisiopatologia Clinica, Università di Firenze, Italy
                    1. Antonio Petrarca (a.petrarca{at}dmi.unifi.it)
                    1. Dipartimento di Medicina Interna, Università di Firenze, Italy
                      1. Giacomo Laffi (g.laffi{at}dmi.unifi.it)
                      1. Dipartimento di Medicina Interna, Università di Firenze, Italy
                        1. Roberto Giulio Romanelli (r.romanelli{at}dmi.unifi.it)
                        1. Dipartimento di Medicina Interna, Università di Firenze, Italy
                          1. Jaime Bosch (jbosch{at}clinic.ub.es)
                          1. Liver Unit, Hospital Clinic, University of Barcelona, Spain
                            1. Fabio Marra (f.marra{at}dmi.unifi.it)
                            1. Dipartimento di Medicina Interna, Università di Firenze, Italy

                              Abstract

                              Background: Transient elastography (TE) has received increasing attention as a means to evaluate of disease progression in chronic liver disease patients. Aim: To assess the value of TE for the prediction of fibrosis stage.

                              Methods: Liver biopsy and TE were performed in 150 consecutive patients with chronic HCV-related hepatitis (92 men and 58 women, age 50.6±12.5) on the same day. Necro-inflammatory activity and the degree of steatosis at biopsy were also evaluated.

                              Results: The AUC for the prediction of significant fibrosis (≥F2), advanced fibrosis (≥F3) or cirrhosis were 0.91, 0.99, and 0.98, respectively. Calculation of multilevel likelihood ratios (LRs) showed that values of TE <6 or ≥12, <9 or ≥12, and <12 or ≥18, clearly indicated the absence or the presence of significant fibrosis, advanced fibrosis, and cirrhosis, respectively. Intermediate values could not be reliably associated with the absence or presence of the target condition. The presence of inflammation significantly affected TE measurements in non-cirrhotic patients (P<0.0001), even after adjusting for the fibrosis stage. Importantly, TE measurements were not influenced by the degree of steatosis.

                              Conclusions: TE is more suitable for the identification of patients with advanced fibrosis than of those with cirrhosis or significant fibrosis. In subjects in which LRs are not optimal to provide a reliable indication of the disease stage, liver biopsy should be considered when clinically indicated. Necro-inflammatory activity, but not steatosis, strongly and independently influences TE measurement in non-cirrhotic patients.

                              Statistics from Altmetric.com

                              Request permissions

                              If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                              Linked Articles

                              • Digest
                                Robin Spiller Magnus Simren