Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Short exposure of oesophageal mucosa to bile acids, both in acidic and weakly acidic conditions, can impair mucosal integrity and provoke dilated intercellular spaces
  1. Ricard Farre (ricard.farre{at}med.kuleuven.be)
  1. Center for Gastroenterological Research, KULeuven, Belgium
    1. Hannah van Malenstein (hannah.vanmalestein{at}med.kuleuven.be)
    1. Center for Gastroenterological Research, KULeuven, Belgium
      1. Rita de Vos (rita.devos{at}uz.kuleuven.be)
      1. Department of Pathology, University Hospital Gasthuisberg, KULeuven, Belgium
        1. Karel Geboes (karel.geboes{at}uz.kuleuven.be)
        1. Department of Pathology, University Hospital Gasthuisberg, KULeuven, Belgium
          1. Inge Depoortere (inge.depoortere{at}med.kuleuven.be)
          1. Department of Pathology, University Center for Gastroenterological Research, KULeuven, Belgium
            1. Pieter Vanden Berghe (pieter.vandenberghe{at}med.kuleuven.be)
            1. Center for Gastroenterological Research, KULeuven, Belgium
              1. Fernando Fornari (nando.ff{at}hotmail.com)
              1. Center for Gastroenterological Research, KULeuven, Belgium
                1. Kathleen Blondeau (kathleen.blondeau{at}med.kuleuven.be)
                1. Center for Gastroenterological Research, KULeuven, Belgium
                  1. Veerle Mertens (veerle.mertens{at}med.kuleuven.be)
                  1. Center for Gastroenterological Research, KULeuven, Belgium
                    1. Jan Tack (jan.tack{at}med.kuleuven.be)
                    1. Center for Gastroenterological Research, KULeuven, Belgium
                      1. Daniel Sifrim (daniel.sifrim{at}med.kuleuven.be)
                      1. Center for Gastroenterological Research, KULeuven, Belgium

                        Abstract

                        BACKGROUND: Severe duodeno-gastro-oesophageal reflux (DGOR) is a risk factor for oesophagitis and Barrett's oesophagus. Patients with non-erosive reflux disease (NERD) have a slight increase in DGOR. Patients with GORD, "on" PPI, still have reflux but of weakly acidic pH and persistence of bile. In these two groups of patients, heartburn might be due to increased oesophageal mucosal permeability and dilated intercellular spaces (DIS). We aimed to asses whether experimental short exposure of the oesophageal mucosa to bile acids, in low concentrations, (in acidic, weakly acidic and weakly alkaline conditions) can increase mucosal permeability and provoke DIS.

                        METHODS: Rabbit oesophageal mucosa was studied in diffusion and Ussing chambers. We assessed the effect of different solutions containing bile acids, applied in the mucosal side, on transepithelial resistance (RT) and permeability to fluorescein. Diameter of intercellular spaces was assessed with transmission electron microscopy.

                        RESULTS: Incubation of oesophageal mucosa with acidic solutions (pH 2.0) containing a range of bile acids (0.5mM-5mM) markedly decreased RT and increased mucosa permeability. Weakly acidic solutions (pH 5.0), and to some extent neutral solutions (pH 7.4), containing some bile acid also decreased RT and increased permeability though the effects were much less marked and in some combinations no effect was seen. Bile acids exposure provoked DIS in acid and weakly acidic conditions but not in neutral (pH 7.4) solutions.

                        CONCLUSIONS: Experimental short exposure of the oesophageal mucosa to solutions with bile acids concentration and acidity, similar to that observed in gastric contents of NERD patients or ERD patients "on" PPI, may impair oesophageal mucosal integrity and even induce dilated intercellular spaces. Such situation could, theoretically, underlie the occurrence and/or persistence of symptoms in these patients.

                        Statistics from Altmetric.com

                        Request permissions

                        If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                        Linked Articles

                        • Digest
                          Robin Spiller Magnus Simren