Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Exendin-4, a Glucagon-Like Peptide 1 receptor agonist, protects cholangiocytes from apoptosis
  1. Marco Marzioni (m.marzioni{at}univpm.it)
  1. Università Politecnica delle Marche, Italy
    1. Gianfranco Alpini (galpini{at}neo.tamu.edu)
    1. Texas A&M University, United States
      1. Stefania Saccomanno (s.saccomanno{at}hotmail.it)
      1. Università Politecnica delle Marche, Italy
        1. Cinzia Candelaresi (ccandelaresi{at}hotmail.it)
        1. Università Politecnica delle Marche, Italy
          1. Juliet Venter (jventer{at}tamu.edu)
          1. Texas A&M University, United States
            1. Chiara Rychlicki (chiararychlicki{at}hotmail.com)
            1. Università Politecnica delle Marche, Italy
              1. Giammarco Fava (giammarcofava{at}hotmail.com)
              1. Università Politecnica delle Marche, Italy
                1. Heather Francis (hfrancis{at}tamu.edu)
                1. Texas A&M University, United States
                  1. Luciano Trozzi
                  1. Università Politecnica delle Marche, Italy
                    1. Antonio Benedetti (a.benedetti{at}ao-umbertoprimo.marche.it)
                    1. Università Politecnica delle Marche, Italy

                      Abstract

                      Background: progression of chronic cholestatic disorders towards ductopenia results from the dysregulation of cholangiocyte survival, with cell death by apoptosis prevailing over compensatory proliferation. Currently, no therapy is available to sustain cholangiocyte survival in the course of those disorders. We have recently shown that cholangiocytes express the Glucagon-Like Peptide-1 receptor (GLP-1R); its activation results in enhanced proliferative reaction to cholestasis. The GLP-1R selective agonist exendin-4 sustains pancreatic β-cell proliferation and prevents cell death by apoptosis. Exendin-4 is now employed in humans as a novel therapy for diabetes.

                      Aim: to verify whether exendin-4 is effective in preventing cholangiocyte apoptosis.

                      Methods: in vitro, we tested if exendin-4 is able to prevent apoptosis of cholangiocytes isolated from normal rats induced by glycochenodeoxycholic acid (GCDCA); in vivo, animals subjected to 1 week bile duct ligation (BDL) and to a single IP injection of CCl4 were treated with exendin-4 for 3 days.

                      Results: exendin-4 prevented the GCDCA-induced Bax mitochondrial translocation, cytochrome c release and increase in caspase 3 activity. PI3K, but not cAMP/PKA or Ca2+-CamKinase inhibitors neutralized the effects of exendin-4. In vivo, exendin-4 administration prevented the increase in TUNEL positive cholangiocytes and the loss of bile ducts observed in BDL rats treated with CCl4.

                      Summary/conclusion: exendin-4 prevents cholangiocyte apoptosis both in vitro and in vivo; such an effect is due to the ability of exendin-4 to counteract the activation of the mitochondrial pathway of apoptosis. These findings support the hypothesis that exendin-4 may be effective in relenting the progression of cholangiopathies towards ductopenia.

                      Statistics from Altmetric.com

                      Request permissions

                      If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                      Linked Articles