Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Long-term outcome of treatment with infliximab in 614 Crohn's disease patients: results from a single centre cohort
  1. Fabian Schnitzler (fabian.schnitzler{at}uz.kuleuven.be)
  1. University Hospital Leuven, Belgium
    1. Herma Fidder (hermafidder{at}gmail.com)
    1. University Hospital Leuven, Belgium
      1. Marc Ferrante (marc.ferrante{at}uz.kuleuven.ac.be)
      1. University Hospital Leuven, Belgium
        1. Maja Noman (maja.noman{at}uz.kuleuven.be)
        1. University Hospital Leuven, Belgium
          1. Ingrid Arijs (ingrid.arijs{at}uz.kuleuven.be)
          1. University Hospital Leuven, Belgium
            1. GERT VAN ASSCHE (gert.vanassche{at}uz.kuleuven.ac.be)
            1. University Hospital Leuven, Belgium
              1. Ilse Hoffman (ilse.hoffman{at}uz.kuleuven.be)
              1. University Hospital Leuven, Belgium
                1. Kristel Van Steen (kvansteen{at}gmail.com)
                1. University of Liege, Belgium
                  1. Severine Vermeire (severine.vermeire{at}uz.kuleuven.ac.be)
                  1. University Hospital Leuven, Belgium
                    1. Paul J Rutgeerts (paul.rutgeerts{at}uz.kuleuven.ac.be)
                    1. University Hospital Leuven, Belgium

                      Abstract

                      Background & Aims: This observational study assessed long term clinical benefit of infliximab (IFX) in 614 consecutive Crohn's disease (CD) patients from a single centre during a median follow-up (FU) of 55 months (IQR 27-83).

                      Methods: The primary analysis looked at the proportion of patients with initial response to IFX who had sustained clinical benefit at the end of FU. Long-term effects of IFX on the course of CD as reflected by the rate of surgeries and hospitalizations and need for corticosteroids were also analyzed.

                      Results: 10.9% of patients were primary non-responders to IFX. Sustained benefit was observed in 347 of the 547 patients (63.4%) receiving long-term therapy. In 68.3% of these therapy with IFX was ongoing and in 31.7% IFX was stopped with the patient being in remission. Seventy patients (12.8%) had to stop IFX for side effects and 118 (21.6%) for loss of response. Although the yearly drop-out rates of IFX in patients with episodic (10.7%) and scheduled treatment (7.1%) were similar, the need for hospitalizations and surgeries decreased less in the episodic than in the scheduled group. Steroid discontinuation also occurred in a higher proportion of patients in the scheduled group than in the episodic group.

                      Conclusions: In this large real-life cohort of CD patients long-term therapy with IFX was very efficacious to maintain improvement during a median FU of almost 5 years and changed disease outcome by decreasing the rate of hospitalizations and surgeries.

                      Statistics from Altmetric.com

                      Request permissions

                      If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                      Linked Articles