Article Text

Download PDFPDF
Providing safe, efficient and affordable sedation in endoscopy
  1. Barbara Braden,
  2. Alissa Walsh
  1. Translational Gastroenterology Unit, Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, Oxford, UK
  1. Correspondence to Professor Barbara Braden, Translational Gastroenterology Unit, Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, Oxford OX39DU, UK; braden{at}

Statistics from

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

We compliment the authors of the ProSed 2 Study1 for their large-scale analysis on the safety of sedation in endoscopic procedures. The vast majority of the over 300 000 endoscopies in this study have been performed under propofol sedation administered by the endoscopic team and only 0.2% were supported by an anaesthetist.

In Germany and many other European countries, propofol is routinely administered by the endoscopist or trained endoscopy nurse according to clearly defined standards as set out in the European or German guidelines.2 3 Propofol sedation administered by non-anaesthetists is even practised widely in doctors’ surgeries with endoscopy facilities.

Currently, according to recommendations of a working party of the Royal College of Anaesthetists …

View Full Text


  • Contributors BB and AW wrote the letter.

  • Funding The authors have not declared a specific grant for this research from any funding agency in the public, commercial or not-for-profit sectors.

  • Competing interests None declared.

  • Patient consent Not required.

  • Provenance and peer review Not commissioned; internally peer reviewed.

Linked Articles

  • Endoscopy
    Angelika Behrens Anton Kreuzmayr Hendrik Manner Herbert Koop Albrecht Lorenz Claus Schaefer Mathais Plauth Jens-Uwe Jetschmann Christian von Tirpitz Marcus Ewald Michael Sackmann Wanja Renner Martin Krüger Dieter Schwab Werner Hoffmann Olaf Engelke Oliver Pech Frank Kullmann Sonja Pampuch Berthold Lenfers Uwe Weickert Dieter Schilling Stephan Boehm Susanne Beckebaum Vito Cicinnati Joachim F Erckenbrecht Franz Ludwig Dumoulin Claus Benz Thomas Rabenstein Georg Haltern Martin Balsliemke Christian de Mas Gerhard Kleber Christian Pehl Christoph Vogt Ralf Kiesslich Wolfgang Fischbach Irmtraut Koop Jens Kuehne Matthias Breidert Nils Lennart Sass Andrea May Christian Friedrich Ronni Veitt Rainer Porschen Mark Ellrichmann Alexander Arlt Wolfgang Schmitt Markus Dollhopf Werner Schmidbaur Axel Dignass Volker Schmitz J Labenz Gernot Kaiser Alexander Krannich Nico Barteska Christian Ell
  • PostScript
    Angelika Behrens Christian Ell