Editorial Board

Editor

Emad El-Omar
University of New South Wales
Sydney, Australia
e.el-omar@abdn.ac.uk
Competing interests

Deputy Editor (Hepatology)

Alexander Gerbes
Klinikum of the University of Münich
Münich, Germany
gerbes@med.uni-muenchen.de

Deputy Editor (Luminal Gastroenterology)

William Grady
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Centre
Seattle, Washington, USA
wgrady@fhcrc.org

Deputy Editor (Endoscopy)

Thomas Rösch
University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf
Hamburg, Germany
t.roesch@uke.de

Associate Editors

Guy Boeckxstaens
Catholic University of Leuven
Leuven, Belgium
guy.boeckxstaens@med.kuleuven.be

Patrice Cani
Louvain Drug Research Institute
Brussels, Belgium
patrice.cani@uclouvain.be

Jean-François Dufour
University of Bern
Bern, Switzerland
jean-francois.dufour@dkf.unibe.ch

Thomas Gress
University Hospital Giessen and Marburg
Marburg, Germany
thomas.gress@med.uni-marburg.de

Christian Jobin
University of Florida
Gainsville, Florida, US
christian.jobin@medicine.ufl.edu

Arthur Kaser
University of Cambridge
Cambridge, UK
ak729@cam.ac.uk

Ernst Kuipers
Erasmus University Medical Center
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
e.j.kuipers@erasmusmc.nl

Siew C Ng
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Shatin, Hong Kong
siewchienng@cuhk.edu.hk

Herbert Tilg
Innsbruck Medical University
Innsbruck, Austria
herbert.tilg@i-med.ac.at

Robert Thimme
University of Freiburg
Freiburg, Germany
robert.thimme@uniklinik-freiburg.de

Fabien Zoulim
National Institute of Health and Medical Research
Lyon, France
fabien.zoulim@inserm.fr

Social Media Editor

Philip Smith
Royal Liverpool University Hospital
Liverpool, UK
pjsmith@doctors.org.uk

Statistics Editors

Ruben Hernaez
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, Texas, USA
ruben.hernaez@bcm.edu

Susan Hutfless
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
shutfle1@jhmi.edu

Book Review Editor

Mark Pritchard
University of Liverpool
Liverpool, UK
dmpritch@liverpool.ac.uk

Guidelines Editor

Rupert Ransford
Hereford Hospital
Hereford, UK

Education Editor

Mairi McLean
University of Aberdeen
Aberdeen, UK
m.h.mclean@abdn.ac.uk

JournalScan Contributors

Clinical Practice
Raja Atreya
University of Erlangen-Nuremberg
Erlangen, Germany
Raja.Atreya@uk-erlangen.de

Michael Burkitt
University of Liverpool
Liverpool, UK
m.d.burkitt@liverpool.ac.uk

John Leeds
Aberdeen Royal Infirmary
Aberdeen, UK
j.leeds@nhs.net

Norma McAvoy
Edinburgh Royal Infirmary
Edinburgh, UK
norma.mcavoy@ed.ac.uk

Ashis Mukhopadhya
Aberdeen Royal Infirmary
Aberdeen, UK
ashis.mukhopadhya@nhs.net

Sebastian Zeki
Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust
London, UK
sebastiz@hotmail.com

Basic Science
Sujata Biswas
University of Oxford
Oxford, UK
sujata.biswas@ouh.nhs.uk

Georgina Hold
University of Aberdeen
Aberdeen, UK
g.l.hold@abdn.ac.uk

Stuart McDonald
Barts & The London School of Medicine and Dentistry
London, UK
s.a.mcdonald@qmul.ac.uk

Francesca Moroni
University of Edinburgh
Edinburgh, UK
francesca.moroni@nhs.net

Richard Parker
Edinburgh Royal Infirmary
Edinburgh, UK
richard.parker@ed.ac.uk

Prakash Ramachandran
Edinburgh Royal Infirmary
Edinburgh, UK
prakash.ramachandran@nhs.net

Specialist Editors

Martin Blaser
NYU Langone Medical Center
New York, New York, USA
Martin.Blaser@med.nyu.edu

Suzanne Mahady
University of Sydney
Sydney, Australia
suzanne.mahady@sydney.edu.au

Catherine Postic 
National Institute of Health and Medical Research
Paris, France
catherine.postic@inserm.fr

Francisco X. Real
Spanish National Cancer Research Centre
Madrid, Spain
freal@cnio.es

Kentaro Sugano 
Jichi Medical School
Tochigi, Japan
sugano@jichi.ac.jp

Joseph Sung
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Hong Kong
js_vcoffice@cuhk.edu.hk

Willem de Vos 
Wageningen University
Wageningen, The Netherlands
willem.devos@wur.nl

Editorial Board Members

Timon Adolph
University of Cambridge
Cambridge, UK

Alessio Aghemo
Fondazione IRCCS Ca’ Granda Ospedale Maggiore
Milan, Italy

Matias Avila
University of Navarra
Pamplona, Spain

Daniel C Baumgart
Charité Medical School, Humboldt, University of Berlin
Berlin, Germany

Shomron Ben-Horin
Sheba Medical Center
Ramat Gan, Israel

Carmen Berasain
University of Navarra
Pamplona, Spain

Antonio Bertoletti
Singapore Institute for Clinical Science
Singapore

Ulrich Beuers
University of Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Michael Bourke
Westmead Hospital
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Anders Boyd
Institut Pierre Louis d’Epidémiologie et de Santé Publique
Paris, France

Albert J Bredenoord
Academic Medical Centre
Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Jordi Bruix
University of Barcelona
Barcelona, Spain

Malte Buchholz
Marburg University
Marburg, Germany

Johan Burisch
Hvidovre University Hospital
Copenhagen, Denmark

Michael Camilleri
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Laurent Castera
Service d’Hepato-Gastroenterologie, Hopital Haut Leveque
PESSAC, France

Min Hu Chen
First Affiliated Hospital, Sun Yat-sen University
Guangdong Sheng, China

Markus Cornberg
Hannover Medical School
Hannover, Germany

Sheila Crowe
University of California San Diego
San Diego, California, USA

Francisco Cubero
Complutense University School of Medicine
Madrid, Spain

Enrico N De Toni
University of Münich
Münich, Germany

Helmut Diepolder
Kliniken Ostallgäu-Kaufbeuren
Kaufbeuren, Germany

Laurence Egan
National University of Ireland
Galway, Ireland

Gwen Falony
Katholieke Universiteit Leuve
Leuven, Belgium

Daiming Fan
Xijing Hospital of Digestive Diseases
Xi’an, China

Peter Ferenci
Medical University of Vienna
Vienna, Austria

Rebecca Fitzgerald
University of Cambridge
Cambridge, UK

Christopher E Forsmark
University of Florida
Gainesville, Florida, USA

Bin Gao
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Peter Gibson
Monash University
Melbourne, Australia

Michael Goggins
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Richard Hansen
University of Glasgow
Glasgow, UK

Cesare Hassan
Nuovo Regina Margherita Hospital
Rome, Italy

Claus Hellerbrand
Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg
Erlangen, Germany

Georgina Hold
Aberdeen University
Aberdeen, UK

Tom Hemming Karlsen
University of Oslo
Oslo, Norway

Pietro Lampertico
Milan University
Milan, Italy

Jian-Horng Kao
National Taiwan University College of Medicine and Hospital
Taipei, Taiwan

Patrick Kennedy
Queen Mary University of London
London, UK

Sun-Young Lee
Konkuk University School of Medicine
Seoul, Korea

James Lee
University of Cambridge
Cambridge, UK

Markus M. Lerch
Ernst-Moritz-Arndt-Universität Greifswald
Greifswald, Germany

Philippe Levy
Beaujon Hospital
Clichy, France

Lanjuan Li
Zhejiang University School of Medicine
Zhejiang, China

Jake Liang
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Jaw-Town Lin
National Taiwan University Hospital
Taipei, Taiwan

Paul Lochhead
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Rohit Loomba
University of California, San Diego
San Diego, California, USA

Paola Martinelli
Boehringer Ingelheim RCV
Vienna, Austria

Julia V Mayerle
Ernst-Moritz-Arndt-University Greifswald
Greifswald, Germany

Kenneth E L McColl
University of Glasgow
Glasgow, UK

Patrick Michl
University of Halle-Wittenberg
Halle, Germany

Catherine Mooser
Universität Bern
Bern, Switzerland

David J Mutimer
Queen Elizabeth Hospital
Birmingham, UK

Jean-Charles Nault
INSERM
Paris, France

Francesco Negro
University Hospital
Geneva, Switzerland

James M Neuberger
Queen Elizabeth Hospital
Birmingham, UK

Natalia Nieto
University of Illinois
Chicago, Illinois, USA

Julian Panes
Hospital Clinic Barcelona
Barcelona, Spain

Miles Parks
University of Cambridge
Cambridge, UK

Laurent Peyrin-Biroulet
University Hospital of Nancy-Brabois
Nancy, France

Massimo Pinzani
University College London
London, UK

Heiko Pohl
Geisel School of Medicine
Dartmouth, New Hampshire, USA

Nageshwar Reddy
Asian Institute of Gatstroenterology
Hyderabad, India

Colin Rees
South Tyneside General Hospital
South Shields, UK

Jonas Rosendahl
University of Leipzig
Leipzig, Germany

Azucena Salas
Hospital Clinic de Barcelona
Barcelona, Spain

Arun Sanyal
Medical College of Virginia
Richmond, Virginia, USA

Bernd Schnabl
University of California San Diego
San Diego, California, USA

Robert Schwabe
Columbia University
New York, New York, USA

Thomas Seufferlein
University of Halle (Saale)
Halle (Saale), Germany

Fergus Shanahan
University College Cork
Cork, Ireland

Magnus Simren
Sahlgrenska University Hospital
Gothenburg, Sweden

Silvia Sookoian
University of Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires, Argentina

Christian Steib
Klinikum Grosshadern
Münich, Germany

Frank Tacke
RWTH-University Hospital Aachen
Aachen, Germany

Robert Thimme
University Medical Center Freiburg
Freiburg, Germany

Simon P L Travis
John Radcliffe Hospital
Oxford, UK

Jonel Trebicka
University of Bonn
Bonn, Germany

David Tuveson
University of Cambridge
Cambridge, UK

Gert van Assche
University Hospital Leuven
Leuven, Belgium

C Janneke van der Woude
Erasmus MC
Rotterdam, Netherlands

Severine Vermeire
University Hospital Gasthuisberg
Leuven, Belgium

Gillian Watermeyer
University of Cape Town
Cape Town, South Africa

Alastair J M Watson
University of East Anglia
Norwich, UK

Sunny Wong
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Hong Kong

Chun-Ying Wu
National Yang-Ming University
Taipei, Taiwan

Kai-Chun Wu
The Fourth Military Medical University
Shaanxi, China

Ming-Shiang Wu
National Taiwan University
Taipei, Taiwan

Hironori Yamamoto
Jichi Medical University
Tochigi, Japan

Yun Sheng Yang
Chinese PLA General Hospital
Beijing, China

Khay Guan Yeoh
National University of Singapore
Singapore

Jun Yu
University of Hong Kong
Hong Kong

Sabastian Zeissig
Center for Regenerative Therapies
Dresden, Germany